Membership elects 2 to the board

March 30, 2021

LGFCU members participated in the 2021 Annual Meeting livestream event on March 26. 

Held as a virtual event for the second year in a row, members voted and submitted questions to Chief Executive Officer Maurice Smith during the event. Board officers and committee chairs reported on LGFCU’s performance in 2020.

Smith delivered the state of the Credit Union address, noting the loan extensions granted for thousands of members in 2020 to help with the financial impact of COVID-19.

“We’ve seen lots of changes, but one word that describes you as a membership is resilience,” Smith said. “As a Credit Union, we cannot think about the statistics and the mechanics of the Credit Union without thinking about how our members are doing.

“LGFCU is a cooperative owned by the membership,” he said. “We’re committed to providing services to you, to help you live your best life.”

Smith discussed the growth experienced by LGFCU in 2020 as membership surpassed 370,000 people and assets grew to $2.8 billion. 

Board members elected to serve

As part of the meeting, members voted to re-elect Lin Jones of Durham and David Dear of Shelby to three-year terms on the LGFCU Board of Directors

If you missed this special event, watch a recorded version of the Annual Meeting. Read more about LGFCU's impact on members and communities across North Carolina in the 2020 Annual Report.  

Share this article: